Hatching polygons

Discuss and ask questions about CAD VCL (Delphi and C++ Builder).

Moderators: SDS, support, admin

Post Reply
dwilbourn
Posts: 6
Joined: 04 Sep 2006, 21:00
Location: Netherlands

Hatching polygons

Post by dwilbourn » 08 Sep 2006, 14:15

I am importing DXF and generating shapes in a drawing program from the entities. I have a problem with Hatching though. It may just be the file I am using to test, but hatched areas which have only one Boundary work fine, but in those that have more, it seems that the last Point position is messed up. It's difficult to explain - a screenshot would be best but a simple rectangle forming part of a complex hatch area:

1-----2 1-----2
| | appears as \ |
| | | \
4-----3 3-----4

(A similar, simple rectangle with only one Boundary works fine)
Is this just me? Is there something about the way boundaries work that I am missing?
The DXF displays fine in 'real' DXF viewers, it's just my code that messes it up!

dwilbourn
Posts: 6
Joined: 04 Sep 2006, 21:00
Location: Netherlands

Post by dwilbourn » 08 Sep 2006, 16:00

<font face="Courier New">Whoops! You need to see the message in courier to make the 'picture' work:

1-----2 1-----2
| | appears as \ |
| | | \
4-----3 3-----4
</font id="Courier New">

dwilbourn
Posts: 6
Joined: 04 Sep 2006, 21:00
Location: Netherlands

Post by dwilbourn » 08 Sep 2006, 16:03

Ohhhh.... The forum is striping out spaces :( Maybe this will work?

Code: Select all

1-----2             1-----2
|     | appears as     \  |
|     |                   |  \
4-----3                   3-----4

support
Posts: 3272
Joined: 30 Mar 2005, 11:36
Contact:

Post by support » 11 Sep 2006, 11:19

Hello!

Thank you for the interesting question. This is the first time when we come across such problem. If possible, please send us your file for testing with a reference to this topic.

Sergey.

please post questions to the forum or write to support@cadsofttools.com

support
Posts: 3272
Joined: 30 Mar 2005, 11:36
Contact:

Post by support » 12 Sep 2006, 15:16

Hello David,
<br />Thank you for the letter and for the files. The reason of the problem is non solid border of the hatch in your file. It has several breaches. If you change properties of this hatch using <b>AutoCAD</b> (angle = 0, scale = 0.0003, spacing = 0.0003 for instance) this bug arises in <b>AutoCAD</b> too.
<br />Currently we develop another way of generating the hatches which will solve such problems. The task is very difficult and unfortunately its solution can't be quick.
<br />We will inform you when we have finished.
Sergey.

please post questions to the forum or write to support@cadsofttools.com

Post Reply