Page 1 of 2

Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 21 May 2018, 22:00
by marym
I am in the process of converting 2 projects from C++ Builder Seattle to C++ Builder Tokyo. I am having problems with some code that used to work fine in Seattle - converting a DXF to BMP.

I experimented with creating a simple sample VCL project. When I included CADSoftTools, I was successfully able to convert from DXF to BMP. However, as soon as I dragged a QuickReport component onto a form in the project, I got an Access Violation in TPicture.LoadFromFile when it calls Load.

I am attaching the 2 sample projects. The first one does not include QuickReport and works fine. The second includes QuickReport and does not work.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 21 May 2018, 23:40
by support
Hello Mary,

Thank you for the sample projects.
Could you please tell what version of QuickReport you are using? QR 5.06 or 6.00?


Mikhail

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 21 May 2018, 23:58
by marym
We are using QuickReport 6

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 22 May 2018, 00:30
by support
Mary,

Thank you for the information. We will test the problem.


Mikhail

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 22 May 2018, 22:45
by support
Hello Mary,

As we understand, you compiled CAD VCL source code into a static library (CADSoftLib.lib), and then added the library to the projects. If so, could you please send the file CADSoftLib.lib to the Technical Support e-mail?


Mikhail

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 23 May 2018, 14:30
by marym
Hi Mikhail,
Files were too big to attach to forum, so I sent them to info@cadsofttools.com.
Thanks,
Mary

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 23 May 2018, 19:33
by support
Mary,

Thank you for the files.
We could reproduce the Access Violation in TPicture.LoadFromFile method and are currently investigating this issue.

Update: we have forwarded this issue to the developers team by opening a support case.


Mikhail

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 23 May 2018, 23:15
by marym
Thank you Mikhail. Please keep me posted on your progress.
-Mary

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 29 May 2018, 15:11
by marym
Do you have an estimate for when you will be able to offer a patch to fix this issue?

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 29 May 2018, 17:20
by support
Hello Mary,

At the moment we don't have the estimated date for the bug fix. We would also like to know if you renamed QuickReport header file SGConsts.hpp to avoid the namespace collision.


Mikhail

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 29 May 2018, 22:25
by marym
Hi Mikhail,

I see that there is an SGConsts.hpp file that comes with QuickReports and with CADSoftTools. Is that the root of the problem?

I have not modified the SGConsts.hpp file in QuickReports or in CADSoftTools.

Thanks,
Mary

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 29 May 2018, 23:10
by support
Mary,

As you might have noticed, the SGConsts.hpp file that comes with QuickReport also contains the namespace Sgconsts. This leads to compilation errors such as:

Code: Select all

[bcc32 Error] MVFont.hpp(56): E2316 'TmvFontStyles' is not a member of 'Sgconsts'
We could workaround this issue by renaming SGConsts.hpp, but renaming of headers is certainly not a good solution.


Mikhail

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 30 May 2018, 00:37
by marym
FYI - I did not get any compiler or linker errors when I built my CADSoftTools static library. I also don't get any compiler or linker errors in my projects. Just the runtime error I described in my original post.

Would the problem be solved if you rename your sgConsts namespace? I am assuming you will have other customers that will also be using QuickReport that could run into the same error.

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 11 Jun 2018, 18:16
by marym
We decided to switch to QuickReport 5.06, which does not have the namespace problem.

However, I think you should work with QuickReports to come up with a solution. The next time we upgrade the IDE we will run into this problem again unless either CADSoftTools or QuickReports makes a change.

Thanks!

Re: Conflict between QuickReports and CADSoftTools VCL

Posted: 13 Jun 2018, 18:28
by support
Hello Mary,

As we understand, switching to QuickReport 5.06 solved the problem with Access Violation in TPicture.LoadFromFile method. Is it right?

Mikhail